It’s a Win! (PCT Ditty)

Patches in Northern California

Hiking North through Washington I tried to focus on the here and now, on the beautiful scenery that I was still immersed in, on my love of backpacking, but my thoughts kept on drifting. I started reflecting on the amazing journeys that I’d been on, and on the future awaiting me when I returned to civilization. All of the existential crises that had been put on hold while I dealt with more immediate concerns like water, food, and shelter, were starting to flood back into those quiet spaces between steps. My vacation was coming to an end.

Pop quiz: Do you know the name of the song (and the artist who wrote it) that got stuck in my head and inspired me to write these new hiking-based lyrics?

When I look back upon my hike,
It’s always with a sense of pride.
I’ve always loved to be outside!
For everything I longed to do,
Whether alone or with a crew,
When I’m hiking this is true…

It’s a, it’s a, it’s a win!
It’s a win!
Every mountain I have climbed,
Every river I have crossed,
Every sunset that I’ve seen,
Every trail I’ll ever hike,
It’s a win!

Character building’s what they said,
And through the rain we forged ahead.
I’m a backpacker born and bred!
For everything I longed to do,
Whether alone or with a crew,
When I’m hiking this is true…

It’s a, it’s a, it’s a win!
It’s a win!
Every mountain I have climbed,
Every river I have crossed,
Every sunset that I’ve seen,
Every trail I’ll ever hike,
It’s a win!

Society forgive me,
I tried to slog through it.
I had the career job,
But that just didn’t do it.
The trails they have taught me,
They’ve led me right to it!
Both worlds are the real me!
But I hope you understand…

When I look back upon my hike,
It’s always with a sense of pride,
I’ve always loved to be outside!
For everything I longed to do,
Whether alone or with a crew,
When I’m hiking this is true…

It’s a, it’s a, it’s a win!
It’s a win!
Every mountain I have climbed,
Every river I have crossed,
Every sunset that I’ve seen,
Every trail I’ll ever hike,
It’s a win!

One thought on “It’s a Win! (PCT Ditty)

  1. Just found your blog while poking around on the net for PCT info. I just had to comment on your pop quiz. The song that inspired your PCT ditty was “It’s a Sin” by Pet Shop Boys. Wonderful song, and a nice ditty as well. Keep hiking.

    Like

Leave a Reply

