The Bloomin’ Desert (PCT Days 5&6)

“You’ve got to be kidding me!” I awoke to the pitter patter of rain on my tent. “I’m not coming out until it stops raining” I announced to the universe and anyone else that may have been close by. It was my fifth morning on the PCT and this now meant that it had rained on 4 out of the first 5 days of hiking in the Southern Californian desert. This just wasn’t supposed to happen. Up until this morning it had been kind of funny that a rain cloud was following me around, and I appreciated that it was good for California, which has been having a massive drought. This morning, however, I was a bit cranky about it.

20140406-092214.jpg

I gently reminded myself that this was not Virginia, that it was not the Appalachian Trail, and it was not going to rain 50 out of the first 60 days on the trail.

It shifted from a light rain to a misting fog as I clambered out of the tent and packed it up, sopping wet yet again. One of the good things about the rain was that it had been a much warmer night than the night before (it had dropped down to 20F causing water bottles and condensation to freeze at mount Laguna the night before) and I’d slept much better.

20140406-161256.jpg

By mid-day I’d hiked out of the fog and into the sunny, shadeless Californian desert. Unlike the rain and fog, which felt familiar to me, the long treeless expanse of the desert was definitely going to take some getting used to. At least it was gorgeous!

20140406-162507.jpg

As my rain cloud dissipated, the Californian desert revealed endless spectacular views and even though there wasn’t much vegetation, the vegetation there was seemed to be in bloom!

20140406-163450.jpg

I think I can get used to this!

20140406-161831.jpg

One thought on “The Bloomin’ Desert (PCT Days 5&6)

Leave a Reply

