The Mahoosucs (Days 130-133)

20130917-214514.jpg

The rumors on the trail made it sound like Mahoosuc should be pronounced “Maine you suck.” Entering southern Maine is entering the land of rocks and roots. My first thought was that Maine and New Hampshire were engaged in a contest of one-upsmanship where New Hampshire says, “We have Mt. Washington and the worst weather in the world,” and Maine says, “We have Mahoosuc Notch and the hardest (most time consuming) mile of the AT.”

Lucky for me, I enjoy a challenge and Mahoosuc Notch was definitely that. I dropped into the notch at 3 in the afternoon, and it felt like I was entering a scene from a movie. There were steep cliffs rising up on either side and a narrow, moss-covered, boulder-strewn channel running down the middle that the trail traversed.

20130917-225854.jpg

At first you think that maybe it won’t be so bad, that there will be a trail that winds it’s way between the boulders. Soon, however, it becomes clear that the “trail” (if you can really call it that) climbs 20 feet up and over some of the boulders, leavings you to leap across chasms between rocks, while at other times has you crawling under or through jumbles of boulders.

20130917-230610.jpg

To traverse this section of the trail I had to relearn something that I’d forgotten in my early teens, or perhaps in elementary school… I had to relearn a sense of invincibility. To successfully traverse this section you have to believe in your body’s ability to just make it happen. You can’t hesitate. You have to commit fully to each step, each movement, and believe that your body’s will to survive will trump gravity. In short, it is a very fun section of trail. Perhaps more fun if you’re not carrying a full pack.

20130917-231335.jpg
There were definitely a few times when I questioned the sanity of the AT. Looking at the holes they wanted me to crawl through and thinking, “Really AT, this is really a trail? You really expect me to crawl through that?” There was one spot where I had to take my pack off, shove it through the crawl space, crawl through myself, throw my pack out of the hole and then finally pull myself up and out of it. This might have been easier if I’d been able to talk any of the fifteen or so thru-hikers at the shelter before it to join me in my traverse of the notch, but I ended up doing it solo.

I was surprised when I got out of the notch because I expected it to take me two and a half hours to go through, but it only ended up taking me an hour and twenty minutes.

20130918-164026.jpg

The rocky terrain in the Mahoosucs provides a full body work out, but the views from its peaks are phenomenal and remind me of why, even after 1900 miles, I’m still out here. I’ll never stop loving the mountains.

8 thoughts on “The Mahoosucs (Days 130-133)

  1. I can’t believe you’re almost finished Patches. I have really enjoyed reading your blog updates from the trail. Randy the section hiker (1 of many) from GA

    Like

  2. I now have to ask. Remember when you hit the GA/NC border and that south bounder, the principle, just came up and took a photo of his elf on the sign? He looked pretty excited at that point. How did it feel crossing into Maine after walking there all the way from Georgia?

    Like

    • Crossing into Maine after walking all the way there from Georgia was pretty exciting, but I still knew that I had a lot of trail to cover before the end and some of it was purported to be the hardest trail of the Appalachian Trail. The end still felt far away when I entered Maine. I think that when I entered the 100 Mile Wilderness I felt the way the south bounder felt when he hit the GA/NC border. It was exciting and the end of the trail was so close that nothing short of a catastrophe was going to prevent me from finishing the trail. It was also sad because it meant that the adventure was almost done, so I wanted to savor the time and the trail that I had left.

      Like

  3. Everyone has been asking how you were since I saw you in NH. I told them you were still having a good time, and this post reminds me how much that is true. They are all wishing you well. Rock on, Sista!! You’re amazing. :)

    Like

  4. Your post reminded me of hiking through the Notch with a 5’0″ friend. That was close to the only time I wished I was short. You’re taller than me so I know you must have had fun!

    Like

  5. Pingback: My 10 Most Awe Inspiring Hikes | The AT and Beyond: Up Next the PCT

  6. Pingback: New England’s 4000 Footers | Patches Thru

  7. Pingback: Living On The Edge! Katahdin’s Knife Edge and More… | Patches Thru

Leave a Reply

