Scarlet Tanagers (Days 5&6)

20130513-163250.jpg

I’m not big into birding, but I appreciate the variety of songs and colors of the birds that I encounter. Yesterday I saw a particularly spectacular bird (a scarlet tanager), which has a brilliant red body offset with dark black wings. As I kept hiking I saw more and more of them (a total of 8 different tanagers). I found that if I disturbed one by the trail, it would slowly try to circle around me as it waited for me to move. Though they came pretty close to me, I was never quick enough to get a picture of one with my phone.

I spent a cozy night curled up in my tent last night and ended up getting a very early start this morning (the people camping near me were having a loud conversation at 5:45 am). I managed to pack up and hit the trail by 7 am and had hiked five miles by 9 am. The early morning sun managed to make everything look beautiful (even the poison ivy). I think that this may mean that I’ve become a morning person again.

20130513-164213.jpg

7 thoughts on “Scarlet Tanagers (Days 5&6)

  1. There were fire yellow and black tanagers in Boulder when I worked there, I loved spotting them, the colors are so over the top.
    You still with your folks? Good to hear your breathing is doing well. Good luck with that I’ve! Hugs.

    Like

  2. I know you should take cold showers after poison ivy exposure, or rinse in cold water, but I’m asking an herby friend for other suggestions. :)

    Like

Leave a Reply

